Hairdresser Tech!

Wow. You know, I never really realised how hi-tech the entire world has gotten. Now, tech isn’t just used for the sake of tech…it’s used for everything. I mean, of course I knew tech was popular, but I never bothered to extend it to all those things that I grew up doing without tech.

I was cured of this style of thought when I went to the salon yesterday. By the way: I hate salons. Apart from the fact that I don’t like my hair, head and scalp being tortured for the sake of so-called beauty which at the end, I don’t feel is even worth it, my anger is directed at the weaves! Yes, the weaves! Weaves irritate me! It’s fine to do it on white people because it looks like their hair, and half of it came from their kind anyway. But dear black people, WHAT is wrong with wearing your own hair, eh? I want to know. Even if you don’t like your afro, it’s understandable that you want to be able to manage your hair well, so you relax it. But to forgo all of that kraa, and go and put some Brazilian person’s hair on your head…where the heck is your pride? Me sef, I’m planning on going natural ASAP.

PicsArt_1371939810586
Dude, you just cannot imagine how much my head was bashing at this time!

Right now if you say you are going to go to town and count the number of Ghanaian women who are wearing their own hair alone…the way you will find it easy!

Anyway, before I get back to de matter, one more deviation: There was this fair woman who was doing my mother’s hair. She was light-skinned, and she was rocking some cool sequin-ed blue shirt and skinny jeans (even though she wasn’t skinny, but who cares about that anymore?) and some white net-like jacket thingie over it, and wore glasses with red flames. But it was her hair that caught my attention. It was double-colour, obviously her own hair, because it was natural, shaved in a mohawk. The really short sides were black and the middle was yellow and you would think it looks terrible but it didn’t. I’d just like to say that if that is not swag, what is?

NOW, we can get back to de matter. (open an’ close…)

Hairdresser tech! When the woman who was doing my hair realised that I had some serious hair problems (don’t I always?), she took me into the something-something room (I forgot what she called it) and there sat a computer. I was required to register, with most of my details, and thus create an account for myself. (BTW I’m sorry if I sound bush for being amazed, but in Ghana I have not seen something like this at a hair salon before.) Then there was this device which she took and shone some light from it onto my skull. There on the screen was the part of my scalp the device was on, magnified so I could see actual individual strands of my hair on my scalp and jeez. My dandruff is terrible! Anyway. Once she got the part of the hair she wanted, she captured an image of it.

The computer analysed the image itself, based on the location of the part taken by the image on my hair, and produced a diagnosis. I have dandruff and a receding hairline. But who didn’t know that? The point is, I am amazed that people have actually developed softwares specially for diagnosing hair! Then the computer also came up with suggestions for treatment, based on the image and the diagnosis.

Come on, man, did YOU know such high-tech salons existed? Like.

Okay. I’m done marvelling. Goodbye.

-Ivana.

7 thoughts on “Hairdresser Tech!

  1. Hahaha. Aww Dandruff. Baby stay strong. And yes, join the natural sistas! Infact, go on my page, http://www.facebook.com/legally1curly & http://www.legallycurly.tumblr.com . We gladly welcome you. Ghanaian salons have become very hi-tech. I have one problem though,weaves. Black women wear weaves to put their natural tresses to rest. Yes, we are extremly crazed by weaves but it isn’t our fault. See, the women during the early industrial times were forced to perceive that the ‘caucasian’ woman was prettier hence they began hating their hair and all other parts that makes a woman. There was the invention of hot combs to get the straight look but our hair is rich and thick. It won’t just stay put. Then we had relaxers. ( Those killers) All that I’m trying to scream is… Women are trying to live up to certain standards. (I.e black women) Afros are gradually being accepted because of some strong women such as Solange Knowles,Erykah Badu and even Oprah. The afro might not be in the media now , but, give it 2 years.

    1. LOL I love your obsession, Sharon!
      =D I shall now follow your blog (I think I already liked the FB page)

  2. You can try something organic for the dandruff. I used to have dandruff and very itchy scalp then I started using organic apple cider vinegar, it worked for me.

Leave a Reply

