Uncategorized

High school might as well be the Divergent world, what with all the factions they try to put you into. You have to be a certain ‘type’ of student, and there are so many stereotypes that students end up following, thus proving right. But me, I’m stupid, because I can never give a legitimate answer when people ask me what kind of student I am, because so far, I am uncategorized.

The factions are business student, arts student, science student, and others I neither know of nor care very much about. This is especially prominent in the (I)GCSE level. Now, let me explain why I actually cannot categorize myself.

First of all, I want to debunk this theory that people have that I am a shark: I’m not. (Shark: very much above-averagely sharp-witted person who excels academically, seemingly without much effort.) Now that that’s out of the way…

English. Yes, I like reading, and yes, I like writing. But to assume that I am automatically good at directed writing would be a lie. I find English Language as an academic subject tedious because

a)   Time limits and I are not on good terms

b)   Word limits and I don’t get along

c)   My pen finds it difficult to be told what to do by someone other than my own brain.

From this information, we can gather that it’s hard for me to write directed essays, or finish them on time, or stick to the given instructions. So, despite my ability to use the language, my ability to cop with the subject requires much more. But I like it mainly because I’ve had some pretty funny English teachers in my short lifetime so far. I could fill a book with stories of them all. Generally, I do well in English. It might be my best subject simply because I don’t have to study for it.

Now, too many teachers think that if you’re good at English Language, you must be good at English Literature automatically. I beg to differ. Whereas English Language might be my best subject, English Literature is my worst. I wouldn’t say that I don’t give a pesewa for what some loony, old, depressed artist is struggling with in his poem. I find these things fascinating, and I appreciate poems and short stories a lot – until the moment when someone decides to teach them. Because in Literature class, ironically, I am not allowed to think. I’m generalising, not specifying, so don’t kill me yet – but many literature teachers I have been exposed to

a)   dictate analyses straight from the internet,

b)   analyse in only one way, and

c)   believe that only their way is the right way.

What’s up with that?

You’ll scream at me if I don’t say anything about the poem, but if I say something and it’s not what you, the teacher thinks, then you’ll scream at me anyway?

I hate this subject more than any other. I especially hate being suppressed. The questions themselves bore me. “Explain how the devices make the poem memorable to you.” My friend, who said the poem was memorable? By the time I reached the second line, I forgot what the first line was. As for the devices, they’re mainstream and cliché, and half of them don’t even make any sense…But write that on a test and see how many lashes you collect. And don’t even get me started on the rate at which teachers invent things in the poems which are never actually there…

Another stereotype is that computer-oriented people are science-inclined but not art-inclined. Ha! I might as well have been born with gel pens in my hands and paint splattered all over my body. I’m in love with art. That doesn’t mean I’m good at it. But I enjoy working with computers too. I don’t claim to be a computer geek, but it was always fun to learn how apps work, to teach myself HTML, fall in love with Photoshop, CoralDraw, and Adobe Illustrator…see, computers are for artists too! But when I chose to do Computer Studies and Visual Art, nobody approved. I know why now, but if I say the reason, someone might tell someone who will end up getting me in trouble. Let’s just safely say that if certain people were more helpful, things might have gone a bit smoother. So, there you have it. Artistic people can be technical. I know at least three other people who followed this path too.

On to maths. Who says artists don’t like mathematics? In my primary school years, mostly between class 3 and class 6, when I wasn’t painting, I was solving math problems. For fun. I don’t know what other kids did with their summer, but I spent mine drawing, using the computer or calculating…which might explain why I have no friends. Um. Whatever. (I’m kidding, guys, I love you. <3)

People think physics is maths, and that if you’re good at maths or addmaths, you must be a physics shark as well. While I managed to raise myself from a stream of U’s to a stream of A’s in addmaths, physics, no matter how much I liked it, remained my second worst subject, next to Literature. So that sucks.

The last stereotype I want to debunk is that people who like writing, drawing and generally creating are humanities-inclined. Tweaa. I hate humanities and that is all I will say.

I don’t know how to choose paths. Even for IB, I’ve chosen an all-rounded subject menu. Of course, my senseless academic choices may result in me growing up unemployed and dying early and alone…So I better start looking for a rich husband.

-Ivana

2 thoughts on “Uncategorized

  1. Haha I feel you. I always wished the universe would make us go with whatever we wanted without the hassle of it not being attractive qualities in the job market. Unnecessary pressure.

Leave a Reply

