Summer Highlights: Chalewote 2014

My summer is coming to an end. I might as well blog about its highlights now, since I go to school on Saturday. The first one I’m blogging about is Chalewote 2014, which I attended on 23rd August. Chalewote is a Ghanaian street art festival, and it was my first time attending, since:

1. This year was the first I’ve heard of it (thanks, Owiredua), and

2. I didn’t have to be in school at the time of the event.

So! Pictures and captions. Let’s go!

Some of the beads, bookmarks, decorations and ornaments being sold
Some of the beads, bookmarks, decorations and ornaments being sold
A beads sale
A beads and bracelets sale
Little pendants for chains and bracelets etc, in Adinkra symbols and shapes. And they look so...ancient. LOL
Little pendants for chains and bracelets etc, in Adinkra symbols and shapes. And they look so…ancient. LOL
This represented the first stage of man: birth. Upon entering beyond the dark curtain...
This represented the first stage of man: birth. Upon entering beyond the dark curtain…
You would see a scene that represents death. There's an old woman buried with belongings, as is tradition...
…You would see a scene that represents death. There’s an old woman buried with belongings, as is tradition…
...And finally, transition, into whatever life there is after death.
…And finally, transition, into whatever life there is after death.
"Do you have an immortal soul?"
“Do you have an immortal soul?”
As an introduction to the life, death, transition exhibit, there were all these messages about life and dreams...
As an introduction to the life, death, transition exhibit, there were all these messages about life, death and dreams…
#EbolaWatch... I mean 'abora.'
#EbolaWatch… I mean ‘abora.’
Abstract, attractive
Abstract, attractive.
My bestie, Naana, with the famous poet/ literary artist, Nana Asaase.
My bestie, Naana, with the famous poet/ literary artist, Nana Asaase.
Then there was Wanlov the Kubolor running around (actually, riding around) in his underwear.
Then there was Wanlov the Kubolor running around (actually, riding around) in his underwear.

wpid-dscn1742.jpg

Why is there a unicorn with a naked mermaid? Even I don't know. But it was cool.
Why is there a unicorn with a naked mermaid? Even I don’t know. But it was cool.
I can't even remember what they were painting.
I can’t even remember what they were painting.
Kids drawing on the floor. =)
Kids drawing on the floor. =)

wpid-dscn1725.jpg

Part of another life, death, transition set of paintings.
Part of another life, death, transition set of paintings.
Part of another life, death, transition set of paintings.
Part of another life, death, transition set of paintings.
This is Christiana. She used to be my brother's nanny. =)
This is Christiana. She used to be my brother’s nanny. =)
As you can see, some of my friends made new friends with my other friends. LOL.
As you can see, some of my friends made new friends with my other friends. LOL.
Kella. This girl is photogenic.
Claudia, in pink, apparently wondering if she should smile. LOL. Kella…this girl is photogenic.
Ekow and Amma. =)
Ekow and Amma. =)
Owiredua, with Sybill-Amanda! She was a super cool hostel prefect. Alumnus of HGIC!
Owiredua, with Sybill-Amanda! She was a super cool hostel prefect. Alumna of HGIC!
Carol, another HGIC Alumnus, dressed as Tinker Bell. (I'm kidding. But that's what she reminded me of.)
Carol, another HGIC Alumna, dressed as Tinker Bell. (I’m kidding. But that’s what she reminded me of.)
My cousin, Eraj
My cousin, Eraj
Here's Owiredua, an awesome person.
Here’s Owiredua, an awesome person.
Kella and Kessel. =)
Kella and Kessel. =)
Bishops, posing with two Jamestown kids. =)
Bishops, posing with two Jamestown kids. =)
Owiredua and Bishops. =)
Owiredua and Bishops. =)
Bishops, who has dawned me for goodness knows how long. LOL
Bishops, who has dawned me for goodness knows how long. LOL
Was this a funeral procession? I don't remember what was even happening here.
Was this a funeral procession? I don’t remember what was even happening here.
You know those guys who make coffins based on the dead person's profession?
You know those guys who make coffins based on the dead person’s profession?
You know those guys who make coffins based on the dead person's profession?
You know those guys who make coffins based on the dead person’s profession?
This guy was also supercool. He processed with broken electronics behind him, which I suppose represented the e-waste dumping site that has existed in Ghana for far too long...
This guy was also supercool. He processed with broken electronics behind him, which I suppose represented the e-waste dumping site that has existed in Ghana for far too long…
Jessica Boifio! One of the super coolest people in Ghana! =) It's not even surprising that she's an Ashesi alumna.
Jessica Boifio! One of the super coolest people in Ghana! =)
It’s not even surprising that she’s an Ashesi alumna.
Then this guy creatively photobombed Jessica and I. :'D
Then this guy creatively photobombed Jessica and I. :’D
Chale...
Chale…
...Wote
…Wote
The view of the beach from inside the Lighthouse
The view of the beach from inside the Lighthouse
The view of Jamestown from the top of the Lighthouse
The view of Jamestown from the top of the Lighthouse
The spiral stairs in the lighthouse
The spiral stairs in the lighthouse
I pose in front of a spray-paint artwork. It's cool when you see these things being started, walk around and come back and you're like, "Whoa."
I pose in front of a spray-paint artwork. It’s cool when you see these things being started, walk around and come back and you’re like, “Whoa.”
Moi, et mes amies: Eraj, Naana and Owiredua
Moi, et mes amies: Eraj, Naana and Owiredua

-Akotowaa

 

One thought on “Summer Highlights: Chalewote 2014

Leave a Reply

