The Kind of Friends I Really Want to Have

It’s rather unfortunate, but I feel like I’m in the wrong class. This is not meant to be offensive to my classmates (who don’t read my blog anyway, so it doesn’t even matter). I mean, the latter part of 2012 and the first half of 2013 still remain the best year of my life, and that was when I moved to SOS-HGIC and I met them.

But by our second year, we’d already started to break apart for various reasons. Sigh. For these reasons, the latter part of 2013 will probably be one of the darkest periods of my teenage life. I even had to write things like Once Upon a Friend and Too Schooled For Coherence because of that period. But, despite many bonds breaking in 2-13, new, very cool ones formed.

The new students, the IG1s in the class below mine, arrived in 2013. In that class were the coolest kids I’d ever met till now, and probably for a long time to come. I’m going to name. What’s there to censor? Simeon Mark Cofie, Kwame Kwakwa, Carlton Segbefia, Yaw Boaitey, Deborah Korboe. Those aren’t all, but they’re the ones closest to me.

Meeting these people was an amazing experience that added so much value to my life. I’d never met people who were so INTO ideas, creativity and creation. I’m talking about amateur programmers, graphic designers, fine artists, comic book artists, story creators, voice acting interests, poets, photography, movie-making and OMG, they are so amazing. What I love most about them is their eccentricity, imaginativeness and plain love of creation.

This is what the people in my class, the people closest to me, don’t really have: the zeal to MAKE things and create COLLECTIVELY. The thing is, they fit so well with each other and it looks like each of my classmates has a place of comfort amongst themselves, as they are. And this is probably why I feel so spectacularly out of place.

I’m a creative. But I need people to be creative with. I want the kind of friends who come up with random, crazy ideas for the heck of it and agree “Hey! Let’s do it!” And when each person is compliant, willing and most of all, interested, they contribute with their own creative ability to the entire project, and you actually produce…stuff.

I want to produce stuff and be surrounded by people who also like to produce stuff and live by love and the love of creation and value each other’s talents and skills and help each other acquire more talents and skills and just…be happy. I want a family of friends, with bonds so strong they feel like blood. But, well, you can choose your friends, but you can’t make them…or can you?

For now, I’m making a vague attempt at trying. The world that I’m creating in Fourteen is a light representation of what I want. But I want to be able to hope for the future, that I may be reunited with these awesome people, or meet people equally awesome.

Also, shout-outs to Michael Kitcher and Anthony Addo for being awesome.

-Akotowaa

9 thoughts on “The Kind of Friends I Really Want to Have

  1. I tend to seek them out on social media and when I do find such eccentric creatives, I fix myself in a little corner of their lives and so far, many many opportunities have arisen to create or at least vibe with them and enjoy their energy.

  2. “I’m a creative. But I need people to be creative with.” The key is not to stop searching. And if you ever feel like they aren’t enough, be the person that brings the genius out of ‘normal’ people.

  3. Now reading this…your shout out just made my day/night!!! I can relate to a lot of what you’ve written here, albeit the issues concerning my own friendships and circles are slightly-to-somewhat different. But I will say this from my own ongoing (and unfortunately limited) experience:

    Build on the connections you’ve made thus far. See them as a spring you can continually be refreshed by. There are times where it may cost more to travel to the spring or keep it running, but it will be worth it in the end.

    I really understand your desire t find a family of friends. If there’s something I miss in particular right now, it’s the “collectives” I had in the past in Ghana, how small or big they may have been. (Fortunately the internet of everything has sustained [at least] one of them). But I’m glad to tell you that there’s hope for finding new ones even after you think you’ve left those you found behind. Although I haven’t found such a group of people on campus, finding that at Church has been wonderful. Being able to sustain and rebuild friendships and connections while making new ones; finding that familial environment where you can both be yourself and grow into the person you want to be each and every day; It’s a blessing I can’t imagine my life without.

    And with that, I cannot help but ask you to trust God with your friendships and relationships and ask him for guidance and wisdom. He knows what’s on your heart and He alone knows the people He wants to bring into (and keep in) your life. He fearfully and wonderfully created you to be the awesome person you are today, and He’s more concerned with your good than you could ever imagine. Stay strong, enjoy the people He’s brought into your life and lean on His Word.

    As usual I’ve typed chao so please forgive.

    1. Typing chao is never a crime, Michael.

      As usual, I am taking your advice to heart, and since, really, there isn’t much I can do about my current situation, I’m going to do just that: Build on the friendships I already have and trust God.

      I’m glad you’ve found an awesome family at Church, and honoured to have made your day with a shout-out. You totally deserved it. =D

      Keep being awesome.

Leave a Reply

