Traditional writing has charm.

Traditional writing has charm. As a matter of fact, most vintage things have charm. And yes, I will admit that it’s a pity, or at the least, very strange that writing by hand, in a notebook, with a pen, has come to be considered by me as vintage. Ah, well. It’s charming.

I love it when I do it – which is really like, all the time. There are typewriters too, and though I’ve neither seen nor used one before, I still tend to believe that there’s more magic in writing by hand than by typing. On any kind of keyboard, even a typewriter. (I still want a typewriter, though, so, if you’d be so kind…I’ll be waiting.)

I only feel like a writer when I’m writing physically, straight from the head, filling pages with ink in their style of my handwriting. I like to envision myself writing somewhere old and air-conditionless, wearing something long, soft and black, seeing everything in sepia. My notebook would be leather-bound, smaller than A4, handmade for me by somebody I love, and the pages smell like…like old books. The pen I use will be a fountain pen which frequently blots my pages. The ink would, of course, be black, because even now, I write in nothing but black ink.

I may have forgotten what the initial objective of writing this was.

But if you ever want to buy me a gift…some sexy notebooks and black pens would do.

Dang. So charming.

(Also, it’s really conducive for getting people to ignore what you’re doing when you want them to. When you’re writing during class when nothing relevant is happening, most teachers won’t suspect a thing. If you’re sneaking your iPad under a desk, however, that’s a different matter entirely. They promote the use of paper and pen so much, completely oblivious that they’ve already legalised my greatest distraction. *evil laugh*)

-Akotowaa

5 thoughts on “Traditional writing has charm.

  1. Wait…what, you’ve not seen a typewriter before?
    I really wish I could burst out laughing but all I can manage is a stifled wide smile, with my cheeks slightly hurting; I can only hear the sound of laughter in my imagination…imagination…imagination *echo* :-]

    Even though I like the traditional way of writing (penning down) I prefer to–yeah– qwerty down. It makes things way easier for me to go back to. I’m quicker with it. It makes things look “professional” to me, maybe it’s because I have a bad handwriting :-/, maybe.

    I mostly like to use pen and paper when I’m reading an actual book, because I write a lot, “from” the book, when reading a hard copy. Penning down is slower for me, though it gives me time to think through even as I read a hard copy. But intermittently I qwerty up some of the things I read in hard copies.

    And as in your last paragraph, I remember how I sometimes end up writing poems in the exam hall when I’m tired of answering questions, or when I think I’m done but do not want to leave because it’s too early since the paper started.

    I don’t really care for much about the colour of the ink, and I do keep all the used up pens somewhere.

    I’m yet to experiment with a typewriter though, but for what?–maybe retyping some other write-ups. At least it sounds like a good experience.

    *sound of a typewriter being used…*

    1. I’m sure penning down is slower from everybody. But I don’t know…I have no desire to stop.
      Hey, I also write from books! Usually, when I’m reading, I have a small notebook in addition to the book’s hard copy where I write down notes or quotes. It helps me remember what I was thinking when or how exactly a book inspired me.
      Well, if you do manage to fund a typewriter, then don’t hesitate to call me up and donate one to me too. =)

      1. That’s great, that you write from books too. It’s always good to see another person from your specie ^_^

        I have about 20 of such books. Stopped along the way but I’m back to doing that since last year.
        Yeah, quotes and whatnot and details like the page and paragraph…Hmmmm interesting. Nice to know.

Leave a Reply

