Frustration Imposition

Umm…I wrote this quite a few weeks ago. Er, yeah:

Frustration Imposition

Ladies and gentlemen, from the person who brought you Lexivism, Ecfiosexuality and Universal Syntax, comes the all-new, earth-shattering concept of…Frustration Imposition!

Honestly, you all should be used to me coining my own terms by now. Anyway…

Do you know that by imposing your own bad mood on a person, you may just effectively destroy their whole day? No? Well, there you are, then. You may now thank me for this information. I call it Frustration Imposition because it’s exactly what it sounds like: forcing your own frustration onto another person, with the intention of making them also feel the magnitude of your own frustration. It’s kind of sadistic, if you ask me. Why on earth would you want to inflict such emotional pain on someone? =(

Speaking from the perspective of an artistically emotive person (by which I mean any small thing can legit make me laugh, cry or explode uncontrollably), I will always advocate for the right to feel your own emotions. As such, my issue is not going to be with anyone feeling frustrated, but rather with the attempt to make someone feel as frustrated as you…Banana. (No, I do not technically insult people. I merely occasionally refer to them as fruits when they bore me.) So, by all means, get as frustrated as you want. The ability to feel is good for the soul. But for heaven’s sake, do not destroy the equilibrium of peace in another person’s soul.

Here’s the thing, alright? Some people are really passionate about some things. This can either be healthy, unhealthy or both, at different times. However, I have my own views of what I should consider important and what I need not. I have no intention of forcing others to think like me or insult everything that I dislike. And so, of course, it baffles me when people begin to believe their opinions have a right to govern another person’s heart, like “Take this trivial thing as gosh-darn seriously as I do, so that you lie awake tossing, turning and thinking all night, rather than sleeping.”

Now I know that if I dare state the specific person(s) or event(s) that sparked the writing of this piece, someone might just get it in their head to expel me – and though more often than not, that is a desirable option, it would seem that certain family members are insistent on the continued expenditure of thousands of cedis and/or dollars on what people call “formal education” these days. But let us just satisfy ourselves with the example of a hypothetical teacher, purely for the purpose of satisfactorily elaborating.

A teacher, we know, has a role to teach. It should also be some sort of common knowledge that dozens and dozens of teachers would like to believe that whatever they teach is the most relevant topic in the universe. However, when said hypothetical teacher insists on insulting and/or blasting all of shis students every lesson, when heesh insists on plainly being nasty all day merely because something from somewhere is annoying shim, and if heesh gets frustrated at people’s lack of frustration with whatever heesh’s frustrated with, and as such, ends up failing to fulfil shis role as a teacher…then perhaps heesh shouldn’t be a teacher in the first place!

Personally I would say that this hypothetical teacher is being made deeply unhappy by either external factors or internal factors (say, purely for exemplary purposes, menopause/midlife crisis/manopause), heesh must, for example, retire – or take a looong break, to re-evaluate shis life, so heesh is assured that heesh is really ready to undertake the sort of life that teaching requires.

Perhaps I have (intentionally) digressed. I do not apologise. (It’s my blog, LOL)

My life experiences and though processes have led me to conclude that no matter what views people hold, about life and all it entails, you, as an individual, remain your own person, with the capacity to take your own decisions and build your own views about life, construct your own hierarchy of priorities, and determine what should frustrate you and what should not. And, as a matter of fact, you have every right to these thoughts and priorities. My prayer is for peace of mind that can, at the very least, transcend human understanding, and, as such, firmly believe that one should neither impose one’s frustration on another nor dare to abide it when another tries to impose their own frustration on anyone else.

Ladies and gentlemen, this is the end of today’s episode. =)

-Akotowaa

4 thoughts on “Frustration Imposition

  1. Hahahaha. You had me laughing through most of it. Frustration imposition ehn? How would you refer to my laughing at your predicament. I know there’s supposed to be a German word for it but frankly, i think you’d come up with something better.

    1. I don’t try not to write about myself, what do you mean?
      If this is a reference to my last post, well, I wrote this long before my mental congestion problem.

Leave a Reply

