The Real World

In the real world,
they tell me
the exam results will not determine my worth.
In the classroom,
they tell me
the real world cannot utilize me
without my exam results.
Now I feel
Like another printed certificate
Like flimsy, perishing paper;
a can’t-do-it-with
and a can’t-do-it-without.
So now I think the real world
is mostly based on fake things
and the realization of the illusion of functionality
has left me disillusioned.
I think reality really doesn’t exist;
My mind is more tangible to me than the real world.
But while you continue to play make-believe in this “real world” of yours,
you tell me that I’m the delusional one.
Funny.
You’re asleep in consciousness.
Wake up to your dreams.
-Akotowaa
6 thoughts on “The Real World

  1. Great poem. I call this the killer verse. It’s because I feel this way everyday:
    Now I feel
    Like another printed certificate
    Like flimsy, perishing paper;

Leave a Reply

