Life is kind of like the International Baccalaureate…

Author’s Note: I think I wrote this two weeks ago or something. Obviously, it was before I posted the Eat, Pray, Love review.

As I write this, I am between academic tedium and temporary periodic relief of Eat, Pray, Love, by Elizabeth Gilbert. So it kind of makes sense that in this sleep-deprived stat I’m in, I’d be half-crazed and thinking about existential things.

IB, for those of you who don’t know, stands for Irrelevant Bull. Why am I studying a course about a male cow, you ask? Well, I don’t know. (I’m sorry, that was a bad joke. I did warn you that I am half-crazed right now.)

I have realised, as the title of this rambling says, that life is kind of like the IB. You see, the IB comes with lots of guides. There’s one for every subject, with a subset for every task. Now you’d think that this would help directionally, but honestly, IB’s instructions are some of the vaguest I have ever seen in my life. There should be instructions on how to understand the instructions, or better yet, we should write instructions to the IB on how to write instructions, because they clearly have no idea. The point I should be trying to make is that despite the heaps of guides provided by the IB, nobody really knows what they’re doing. Not even the ones who’ve passed through it and finished. It’s quite a fascinating phenomenon.

I am now of the opinion that you cannot teach IB, even if you’ve done it before, and especially if you’re a teacher, in which case you probably haven’t done it before anyway. It really is like life. You can’t teach that either, you see, even if you’ve done it [life] before. (Note that this may be due to the fact that if you’ve already done life before, you are dead. That’s another similarity: both life and IB can’t be gotten out of alive.) Everyone just does it so differently. No matter how much you try, neither life nor IB can be standardized. And so, despite all the vague templates we are given, fundamentally, nobody knows what they’re doing. We’re all just stumbling through, and somehow, some of us make it out with diplomas. (But also dead, as I already pointed out.)

Right now, I’m staring in wonder at the world (i.e. my laptop full of IAs), absolutely dumbfounded by how much I have no idea what I’m doing. =)

PS. Dear IBO,

I hate you. Sincerely.

Sincerely,

Ivana Akotowaa Ofori.

2 thoughts on “Life is kind of like the International Baccalaureate…

  1. I think today is my “Akotowaa” day!
    been going through your blog since I closed from school.
    reading as much as I can
    I’ve tried a couple of times to write something… but it becomes difficult what and how to even start/write…
    any ap) for me?

Leave a Reply

