Perfect Compatibility

At some point,

I remember believing

the strongest bonds

were meant to last

multiple moments in silence.

 

At some point,

I began to believe

the absolute comfort

was one-sided,

and one party was bored.

 

From a distance,

I see them engaged

in laughter and conversation

and jealousy consequently

lurks in my heart.

 

On the list

of my greatest virtues,

‘good communicator’

is not very close

to the top.

 

It is ironic

that I find the words

to address crowds of hundreds

but to you,

I hardly ever know what to say.

 

And I wish

I could follow some manual

that could teach me

how to be a good enough friend

for you, always.

 

But it seems

I remain me

and you remain you

and perfect compatibility

has other things to do.

-Akotowaa

Leave a Reply

