This Is The Thing You Romanticize.

The poet, he was afraid
to call himself a poet,
wondering if his words qualified
and if practicing the craft was enough.

 

The internet, it spoke
of inner demons countless,
tortured artists abundant,
and pain like it was art’s only fuel.

 

The poetess, she told me
there was nothing to be glorified
for those characteristics
that should otherwise land one hospitalised.

 

I myself once asked,
“Are we in pain because we are artists,
or we are artists because we are in pain?”
And now I answer: Neither.

 

This is the thing you romanticise:
A lie. We did not invite pain
like it was a necessary ingredient
to make us who we are.

 

Before I was accursed,
I was writing.
As I am being set free,
I shall write, and after.

 

If to call oneself melancholic,
constantly wear black, and declare
oneself as troubled is one’s ideal state,
This One is doing Art awfully wrong.

 

I am creation. My God
did not create in perpetual sadness.
He did not create creatives
to strive for chronic depression.

 

My art is not
The Crying Man’s Sole Solace.
It is just that I myself cry;
But you need not.

 

The next time you romanticize
the demons and their poets,
may you be afflicted by a joy so deep
it moves you to bear your best creations.
-Akotowaa
11 thoughts on “This Is The Thing You Romanticize.

  1. One of the poets I have so much faith in. I am always looking out for your next soul. #YouAreAGem

  2. I really like this…
    If to call oneself melancholic,
    constantly wear black, and declare
    oneself as troubled is one’s ideal state,
    This One is doing Art awfully wrong.

    I am creation. My God
    did not create in perpetual sadness.
    He did not create creatives
    to strive for chronic depression.

    My art is not
    The Crying Man’s Sole Solace.
    It is just that I myself cry;
    But you need not.

    The next time you romanticize
    the demons and their poets,
    may you be afflicted by a joy so deep
    it moves you to bear your best creations.

    Lol, i had to copy the whole thing because i like it, and because i can relate to what you’re speaking about.

  3. This is why they say the passions of the tide is a dangerous thing.

    You romanticize the afflictions insecurities cause in other people, seemingly unable to know why this is so, even though the answer is clear.

    You romanticize the timeless addiction of decadent furor and the burst of life from the seed planted on ruined plains.

    Is pain derived from art, or is art the creative nuisance pain cannot associate with anymore? This is Schadenfreude.

    You only romanticize wealth, and the derivative metaphors to juggle alongside the pile.

Leave a Reply

