MISEDUCATION : “National History”

I am (and you are) going to love this series.

bits & pieces

September 9

 

Today we learnt about the Yaa Asantewaa War. I liked the story very much. Yaa Asantewaa kind of reminds me of my sister. I nearly said that out loud at dinner earlier, but I hit my mouth. And thank Jesus I did – Papa would have been furious. Just like Teacher was when Esaaba raised her hand to say that women were stronger than men. I had thought it was obvious, but Teacher became so angry and said unkind things. Well I thought they were unkind, maybe even untrue.

He said that women could never be stronger than men, and then proceeded to demonstrate with us and to us. First, he asked all the girls in the class to stand. Then he told all the boys to look at the girls, and weren’t they weak even standing there? Then he asked all the boys to stand and…

View original post 1,057 more words

Leave a Reply

