So You Stopped Speaking.

A few minutes ago you were
spilling it all with hardly a pause
(but did you feel heard?)
I start to speak and stop.
I ask if you understand.
Yes, you do.
I start to speak and stop.
I ask if you are still there.
Yes, you are.
The silence over the phone line is pregnant,
I can hear the screaming of your choked words
trying to escape from your throat.
I start to speak and stop.
I ask if you are okay.
Yes, you croak out in a sob,
and I think that sob means something
     we are speaking of is bothering you
and I think that sob is from tears
but the sob really means everything
     you are not speaking of is bothering you
and the sob is actually from fear.

 

This is the silence that does not mean
     you have nothing to say.
This is the silence that means you could speak
     for a decade
But you feel that I would never understand.
(Which is what I can not understand. So you stopped speaking.)
-Akotowaa
2 thoughts on “So You Stopped Speaking.

Leave a Reply

