The Mad Diaries III: Insanity

This post is part of a 9-part guest blog series whose author wants to be known as J.J. Moore. I hope you enjoy it. :)

How is it possible to miss the same person every minute of every single day? I mean I have been in love before and I regretted it. And so you’d think that I’d be more calculating. Love doesn’t seem to care about Math though. There is no logic, no series and sequence to it, just free flowing fireworks all the time.

In the low tides, when the spark isn’t so conspicuous, it can seem like love knows rest and sanity. It doesn’t. In the low tides love is still fireworks. A little draught of wind and there is an explosion from nowhere. Boom! And just like that you are saying “I love you”. Nothing else is that mad but love.

Of all the mental illnesses there are, how has love not been categorized as one yet? How do you think about another human being who up until you met (and probably for the duration of your insanity) was a stranger, with so much yearning and affection? That’s pretty sick!

You are probably going to say that it’s obsession or infatuation or whatever fancy word we pull out to give our grammatical egos a pat on the back. However, those are just tangents and consequences. They are just symptoms.

When you love someone you can’t stop thinking about them. That’s obsession. That’s a symptom. But what is making you show such signs of fixation? Love! See? Love is sickness. And I am telling you that it is probably the most foremost mental illness there is. You just don’t realise it. Or maybe you do but like all insane people, you think you’re not insane. I know my situation though, I know I’m mad.

-J. J. Moore

Leave a Reply

